“Nahh Man, I Got Stuff To Do”

What up y’all? A lot of my friends are doing the whole blogging thing so I thought I’d make like an Auburn fan and jump on the bandwagon. (ba-doom-pish) You can expect a lot more bad jokes if you keep reading.

Still here? I commend you.

So a little bit about me. I’m introverted. Like really, really introverted. I’ve always been rather reserved and quiet but over this past summer, my introversion really manifested itself. For those of y’all who haven’t read the dozens of posts floating around Facebook about introverts vs. extroverts, an introvert is someone who gains energy from being alone. An introvert recharges by being by themselves. Being an introvert, I can attest to that fact and because of this I’ve had many conversations that go like this:

Person: Hey, you should come to (insert social event here) and hang out!

Me: Nahh man, I got stuff to do.

Me: *goes home and watches Netflix for 4 hours*

I’ve had this conversation more times than I can count.  And on the surface it looks benign. I rationalize my decision by saying to myself, “I’m introverted, so I need my alone time. Plus there might be people there that I don’t know and I don’t want to have to expend all that energy to deal with that.” But all I’m really doing is making excuses. I’m using my introversion as a cop out to not leave my comfort zone. And I feel like I’m not the only one.

It’s easy to stay home and spend hours catching up on your favorite TV shows rather than going out and having actual human interaction. I get it. Believe me, I do. But being introverted isn’t an excuse to become a hermit and cut off all human contact. I believe we were created to live life in community and while this can be uncomfortable for some of us, we all need it. We can’t become all we were made to be in isolation. Proverbs 27:17 says, “As iron sharpens iron, so one man sharpens another.” You can’t sharpen or be sharpened if you’re alone all the time.

Basically, I just want to encourage y’all (and myself) to step out of your comfort zone a little bit. I’m not saying you have to magically become a social butterfly. Not all of us are built that way. But take some chances. Meet new people. Get a little uncomfortable.  You never know what might happen.

Thanks for reading this, you guys. You rock my socks.

3 thoughts on ““Nahh Man, I Got Stuff To Do”

  1. Zach, thanks so much for this post. Its how scary I relate to this post in saying that I always have school work I could study and use that as an excuse to not hangout or seek social interaction but instead I just end sitting around re-watching you-tube videos and reruns on TV by myself. And just to add on to your Proverbs 27:17, there is Proverbs 18:1 – ‘One who isolates himself pursues selfish desires; he rebels against all sound knowledge.’ We cannot seek encouragement to fight our sin if we are always trying to do everything on our own. All sin is centered around selfishness. But instead as Proverbs 27:17 says, surrounding ourselves with other loving people, they can help us stay accountable and fight the sin of this world and grow sharper as we pursue righteousness.

    • Wow. I didn’t review my work very well. That’s me just being stubborn and thinking everything I do the first time is already good enough.

  2. This is a great bandwagon to jump onto. Have fun with this. It’s a nice release, especially for us college students.

    To be honest, I’m not sure whether I’m an introvert or an extrovert. I think I’m both.

Leave a Reply

