WHAT’S COOLER THAN BEING COOL?!?! Being Warm.

So I feel like our culture does a great job of glorifying the “cool guy” or the “cool girl”. You know, the person that’s always detached and aloof. Nothing fazes them. Nothing can disturb their glacial calm. They float at a higher level than the rest of us mortals. And we strive to be like them. But in our attempts to be “cool”, we can freeze out the people in our lives. Why isn’t being warm and caring “cool” any more?

A friend of mine comes to mind when I think of the word “warm”. This guy is one of the genuinely nicest people I know. When he talks to you, you know that nothing else is as important to him at that moment than what you are saying to him. He’s the guy that goes around giving out hugs and smiles like Santa Claus on Christmas Day. When he sees you, his eyes light up and you know he is genuinely happy to see you. The guys I’ve described is the opposite of detached and aloof. The opposite of the stereotypical cool guy. But guess what? This dude has more friends than you can shake a stick at (lol that I just said “shake a stick at”). He’s one of the most beloved people in his circle of friends. And that’s pretty cool to me.

And yeah, not everyone is a people person. I’m certainly not. I’m not going to go around hugging people because I ain’t bout that life. But I’m gonna try to make the effort to be a little more warm in my interactions with people. And I challenge you to do the same.

Thanks for reading this rachetness. Much love y’all.

Leave a Reply

