Headlights

So this post is a little more personal than the last few have been. But I feel like a lot of people can relate. So here goes.

I have literally no idea what I’m gonna do with the rest of my life. Literally, no clue. I don’t know what major I’m going to graduate with. I don’t know what city I’m going to live in once I graduate. I don’t know what job I want to have. When it comes to having things figured out, I’m not the best. And that stresses me out. A lot. I’m the kind of guy that needs to have a plan or I get anxious. So I’m anxious a lot. I have none of the answers.

Now I could take this post into churchy cliché territory and say, “Well Jesus has plans for me so I don’t have to worry. Yay!”. I could leave it at that and wrap it up in a nice bow. But me just saying that doesn’t stop me from laying awake at 2AM worrying about my future. It doesn’t stop me from going into semi-panic mode whenever I have an advising appointment. My future is a complete mystery to me and nice little clichés about God’s plans aren’t gonna cut it.

I don’t have all the answers. I don’t have a road map to the future. But I do have the memories of what has happened in the past. I have example after example of how God has been faithful in my life. Examples of times where God has answered my prayers and the prayers of others. So if He’s worked in my life before, why would He stop now? Why would He stop being faithful? Spoiler Alert: He won’t. So while I don’t know my future, I can rest in the fact that God does.

I’m reminded of a metaphor I once read. Headlights on a car don’t show you everything on your route to where you’re going. They only show you enough to light the road directly in front of you. And a lot of times, God is like those headlights. He doesn’t show you the entire plan for your life. He may not show you 10 years ahead or even 5 years ahead. But He reveals enough for you to know what your next step is. And as long as you follow those steps, He’ll lead you to where you need to be.

So I don’t know what my future holds. In 10 years I could still be living in Athens, or I could be living in Antarctica(Although I really hope not because I don’t do snow). But I know that wherever my path leads, the Lord will always show me the next step. Then the next one. And the next one.

Peace and Blessings y’all.

Leave a Reply

