Stretching

I hate stretching. It’s boring and tedious. Also, I’m about as flexible as a steel rod so that might have something to do with my dislike. But stretching is good for me. I remember one time I played a game of ultimate frisbee without stretching beforehand. I strained a muscle and walked like an old man for a week. So long story short, I stretch now.

Stretching is also key when it comes to life in general. It sucks just as much but is equally important. Right now in my life, I’m being stretched in ways that I couldn’t even imagine a year ago. I’m a small group leader at a campus ministry. I’m taking 13 hours of classes. I’m going on a mission trip to Jamaica this spring break. And to top it all off, I’m doing a hip-hop dance in a dance show this spring.(Btw I have zero dancing ability. If it’s possible to have negative ability, then I have it.) So yeah, I’m pretty stretched right now. I’m very uncomfortable sometimes. But that’s not necessarily a bad thing.

Sometimes, when I think about the things that I have going on in my life, I wanna just lie in my bed and watch Netflix all day. Placing myself in uncomfortable positions is not something I relish. But I think at the end of the day, it’s a good thing. If we are never stretched, then we can never grasp the potential of all we were made to be. Just like not stretching physically can hurt you, so can not stretching in other areas of life. So I encourage you(and myself) to stretch this semester. Try something new. Go do that thing that you’ve always wanted to do but were too scared to. Who knows what could happen?

Leave a Reply

