Here Be Dragons

“Here be dragons.” Hundreds of years ago, mapmakers wrote this on the parts of the map that hadn’t been explored yet. Sometimes, they would even draw pictures of what they thought those dragons looked like. Unfortunately, there are no dragons. Not even Smaug The Terrible (which is unfortunate). But I think the underlying sentiment behind putting “Here Be Dragons” on maps is still something we still deal with today.

The reason mapmakers put that phrase on their maps was because they simply didn’t know what was there. So they assumed the worst. And I feel like that’s how a lot of us live our lives. A lot of times we have our own little bubble, our own little zone of safety. And we are very wary to go out of that zone. But what if outside that zone is where our passions lie? What if outside the edges of the map is where the adventure starts?

We all have certain scripts for our lives. Get a good education. Get a good job. Get married. Have kids. Retire someday. And while there’s nothing wrong with any of those things, don’t you feel like there has to be something more? Don’t you feel something inside you rebelling against a boring, predictable existence?

Hear me when I say this. Having a life plan is not a bad thing by any means. I’m not saying that getting a great job and working hard and saving for retirement is bad. It’s not. All those things are very good. But the thing is, are you doing those things because you want to or are you doing them because you feel like it’s just what you’re “supposed to do”?

Here’s the part of the post where I’m supposed to give you an example from my life which illustrates the point I’m trying to make. But guess what? I don’t have some nice little story to tell you because I’m in the middle of figuring all this out right now. I have absolutely no idea what I want to do with my life. I mean, I’m a business major, but I don’t even know if I want to do that. But I do know this. I don’t want my life to be boring and predictable. I want to go off the edges of the map.

Basically, the reason I’m writing this is to encourage you to find to find your passion and follow it. But be warned. This isn’t like Disney Channel where the dude is like, “I gotta follow my dreams, man.” and then flips his hair and rides into the sunset and everything’s great. Going after what you love may be scary. It might lead you to places on the map where may be dragons. But wouldn’t it be awesome if you slayed those dragons?

Much love, y’all.

Leave a Reply

