Feel Your Feelings

“It’s going down. I’m yelling timber.” Apart from being lyrics to an incredibly catchy Pitbull song, those words were a pretty accurate description of my mental and emotional state over the last couple of weeks. There were a myriad of reasons why I felt this way but they are irrelevant to this post. The point is, I was feeling low. Like, lower than the young lady in that song by Flo Rida feat. T-Pain.

*Really, really hoping y’all got that pop culture reference*

So anyways, my tendency when it comes to anything emotional is to push it away and try to logically process whatever is going on and come up with a nice neat answer that will solve all my problems. Yeahhh that doesn’t work. It only made me feel frustrated with myself which further exacerbated how upset I was. So ignoring my emotions wasn’t the answer.

Long story short, I eventually got out of my slump. It took a little time and a lot of help from Jesus. Through it all, I learned that you have to feel your feelings. Don’t marginalize them or pretend they’re not there. That’s like having a ravenous tiger in the room with you and then closing your eyes and hoping it goes away and doesn’t eat you. That doesn’t work.

When life gets sucky and you start feeling down, admit to yourself that you are upset. Write it in a journal. Talk to a trusted friend. Personally, what worked for me was writing songs that expressed how I felt. I have about 6 super depressing songs on my computer that are basically a timeline of my feelings over the last few weeks. Just getting it all out helped so much.

Basically, let yourself feel your feelings. Don’t wallow in them but don’t dismiss them out of hand. Feelings are kind of like symptoms of your soul condition. They shouldn’t run your life but they can help you make sense of what’s going on in it.

Leave a Reply

