Hey Girl, You Rock

So can a dude even write about how the media portrays women? Like, is that even allowed? Well, I hope so ‘cuz dang it, I’m about to.

I’m angry. I’m pissed. I’m downright livid at the way media portrays women and the ridiculous expectations that are placed on you ladies. I’m angry and I’m so, so sorry. It’s not fair that you’re bombarded everyday with photoshopped images of what some editor somewhere sees as “attractive”. It’s not fair that you’re told every day that you’re not good enough. It’s not fair that you’re told that if you don’t weigh a certain amount, you’re not pretty. It’s not fair that you’re told that if you don’t act a certain way, dudes won’t be attracted to you. It absolutely sickens me and I’m sorry.

I know girls who are absolutely beautiful both inside and out but are convinced that they’re not. They wish they looked a certain way. They wish they were better at flirting. They wish their personalities were different. But check it; Psalms 139:14 says, “I will praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Marvelous are your works, and that my soul knows very well.” God says you are fearfully and wonderfully made. He says you are marvelous. Anyone or anything that tells you otherwise is a liar. So those expectations, unattainable standards and lies about your worth are straight from the enemy and can go straight to hell to hang out with him as far as I’m concerned.

So those articles titled, “15 Tips to Get a Guy”? Bump that crap, y’all. There’s a 99.9999% chance that you’re awesome, so just be you. Any man who wants you to change who you are isn’t a man but a boy. So bump him and do you. Don’t try to fit in some box that society says you should fit in. There is literally no one on Earth better at being you than you. Werk it, girl.

Basically, I wanted to write this to try to give you ladies some encouragement. I know I’m a dude and I have no idea what you go through. Honestly, I may not even be qualified to write this post. But I just want you to know that you rock my metaphorical socks. You’re amazing just the way you are. *In Bruno Mars voice* But forget about what I think. Remember that God thinks you’re freaking awesome.

Peace and blessings y’all

Leave a Reply

