Fear Is Scary

President Franklin Roosevelt once said, “The only thing we have to fear is fear itself.” I think FDR was on to something. Fear is one of the scariest things out there. Fear is one of the biggest barriers that keeps us from becoming all we are made to be. Fear stunts our growth and keeps us from some of the best things in life. And the scary thing is that we give Fear the permission to do all this. Fear is something to be scared of.

We all have our comfort zones. Things, people, and places in which we feel completely at home. Nothing is too difficult; nothing surprises us. Life’s not too shabby inside that comfort zone. But doesn’t your soul ache for something more? Don’t you ever get tired of doing the things you’ve always done? Don’t you want to live your life to the fullest?

Here’s the thing. I would be willing to bet that most everyone would answer “Yes!” to all those questions. But if that’s the case, then why are so few of us living our lives outside of our comfort zones? Why are so many of us stagnating in a life of boredom? The answer is Fear. Fear imprisons us in a cage of our own making. Fear is that whisper in your ear that tells you things like:

“That’s waaay too hard for you.”

“If you try and fail, everyone will laugh at you.”

“You know you’re gonna fail so why even try?”

I know that voice. I know it well. I’ve lived- and sometimes still live- so much of my life under the spell of that voice. Sometimes, I believe the voice when it tells me my comfortable life of boredom is better than stepping out into the unknown. But check it. 2 Timothy 1:7 says, “…for God gave us a spirit not of fear but of power and love and self-control.” Boom. It is NOT in God’s will for us to have a spirit of fear. That’s not a thing, y’all. So if there is fear in your life, it’s not of the Lord. Not that God won’t ask you to do things that scare you, but He has given you the power to overcome that fear. And I think that’s freaking awesome. In the words of that wise philosopher, Lil Jon, “Turn down for what?”

You may be like, “Yeah, that’s easy for you to say Mr. Bloggy Blog Writer but you don’t know my life.” Yeah, you’re right. I don’t know your life. But I do know that God is giving me the strength to do soooo many things that scare me. Exhibit A: I’m auditioning to be part of the worship team at my campus ministry. If you’d told me that last year, I’d have said you were crazy. Me getting up and singing in front of people? Yeah, right. I still hear the voice telling me, “You’re gonna suck. They’re gonna laugh you out of the room.” But I’m not listening. I’m not gonna let Fear rule my life.

I don’t tell y’all this to say, “Look at me! I’m so spiritual and un-scared!” I tell y’all this to say that it’s possible to live fully in spite of fear. It’s not easy, but breaking fear’s grip is possible and it rocks when you do it. So give 2 Timothy 1:6-7 a read and ask the Lord to give you the courage to ignore the voice of Fear in your life. 

Leave a Reply

