Just Do It

Just do it. Everybody knows that as the Nike slogan. It’s on TV commercials, T-shirts and everything in between. Usually, we just see it as corporate advertising and don’t really pay attention to it. But have you ever really sat down and thought about that sentence?

A lot of times in life, we don’t know what to do. We honestly have no clue what path to take. But I think more often than not, we know what to do but just don’t do it. We know exactly how to proceed in a situation, yet we don’t do what we know we should. I do this all the time in my own life. I say want to make new friends, yet I continue to stay safe in the bubble of friends I already have. I say want to branch out and try new things but I continue to do the same things I’ve always done. I know what I need to do, yet I simply don’t do it. One of the underlying reasons for that is fear.

Fear, if you let it, will trap you in a box that will suffocate you. Think about the best part of your life. Maybe it’s a relationship, membership in an organization, or being a part of a team of some sort. Now think back to when it was just beginning. I’d be willing to bet that you were at least a little bit nervous at the start. But you overcame that initial nervousness and now you have something that was totally worth the fight to overcome that fear.

Courage isn’t the absence of fear. Courage is doing what you know needs to be done in spite of fear you feel. What I’m trying to say is, sometimes you don’t really need someone to tell you what to do. You just need to find the courage to do it. You know what it is you need to do in your life. Take the plunge. In my 19+ years of experience, things tend to be way less scary in real life than you build them up to be in your head. So go for it. Audition for that role. Ask that girl out. Apply for that internship. Just do it. And see what happens.

Leave a Reply

