Raw Places

We all have places in our lives that are raw; things in our lives that we wish didn’t exist. It could be something that happened to you in the past. It could be an attitude you have towards yourself. But whatever it is, you know what I’m talking about. You know because every time you think about it, you cringe inwardly and push it to the back of your mind. You don’t even want to think about it because it brings too many unpleasant emotions to the surface. But those raw places, those broken places; those are the places you have to press in to in order to become whole.

Pressing in to those places absolutely sucks. I hate it. I hate thinking about the raw places in my life. I hate dealing with the broken pieces of my life. But when I push them under the rug and pretend everything is fine, they eat me up from the inside out. You can run from a lot of things, but you can’t run from yourself.

I’m starting to work through some of these raw places in my life right now and if I’m perfectly honest, it’s not fun. It’s not fun taking stock of your life and realizing that you actually don’t have it all together. It hurts when you sit down and put words to that feeling you get in the pit of your stomach when you think about that one thing that happened years ago. It’s uncomfortable finally putting in words what you’ve been feeling for years. Dealing with the junk in your life sucks.

This is usually the part of the blog post where I say something like, “Do this and you will be happy!”. But if I’m brutally honest, I can’t say that. I can’t say that facing myself as I truly am is fun. I can’t say that I have the magical formula of success because I don’t. But what I can tell you is this. Cry out to Jesus. Tell him about every hurt, every shattered dream, every broken piece of your life. Because God is there, listening to you, hurting with you, crying with you. But more than that, he brings healing and restoration to those raw places in your life. Psalm: 147:3 says, “He heals the brokenhearted and binds up their wounds.”  Cry out to Jesus, y’all. Let him heal the raw places in your life.

Leave a Reply

