Noooo, I Wasn’t Ready

“I’m not ready.”

“I’m not qualified.”

“I can’t do that.”

I’ve said those sentences to myself dozens of times in my life. Sometimes, I’m 100% sure that somebody else could do things better than I ever could. Someone else could be a better leader than I am. Someone else could be a better friend than I am. The list goes on. Sometimes, I lay awake at night and I’m like, “Really, God? Out of the 7 billion people on this planet, you couldn’t get someone else to do this?”

Feelings of inadequacy are something we all struggle with. These feelings may manifest themselves in different ways and in different places but at some point in our lives, we will all feel inadequate. We will feel like we are not enough. And we aren’t. By ourselves, we can accomplish nothing; especially not the amazing plans God has for our lives.

But check it. 2 Corinthians 12:9 says, “But he said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” So our inadequacy is a conduit for God’s power to show up in our lives. When God’s works through us, we find ourselves accomplishing things we know for a fact that we can’t do on our own. When we acknowledge that we aren’t enough, God comes in and more than makes up the difference.

So when you feel like you’re not enough, remember that God is more than enough. If he leads you to something, he’s not going to leave you hanging out to dry. If God wants you to do something, he will give you the strength and ability to do it. Yes; by yourself, you are inadequate. But with God, there’s no limit to what you can accomplish.

Leave a Reply

