Say Something, I’m Giving Up On You

Ok I’m just gonna go ahead and apologize for the incredibly cheesy title. It’s late and I can’t think of anything better, ok? Alright now that we got that out of the way…

I’m not a very emotionally expressive person. That’s just not how I roll. I’m not gonna be the guy that comes running up to you like, “OMG HEY I LOVE YOU SO MUCH.” That’s just not me. I’m also really sarcastic. Like I think it’s my spiritual gift. I’m a terrible person to watch a movie with because all I’ll do is make snarky comments throughout the whole thing. I’m also the king of backhanded compliments. I’m not gonna be the person that comes up to you and says, “You did a great job!” I’m more likely to say, “Well, you didn’t suck so….”

So why am I telling you this? My seeming emotional detachment combined with my sarcasm can make me come off as kind of a tool. I don’t mean to but that’s the vibe I give off sometimes. And that’s not cool. 1 Thessalonians 5:11 says, “Therefore encourage one another and build each other up, just as in fact you are doing.” We’re supposed to encourage one another and that’s something that just doesn’t come naturally to me. I assume that people know I appreciate them even if I’ve never actually said it out loud. And that’s not cool.

Encouraging words are more powerful than you can imagine. It’s crazy. I really learned this while on a mission trip over spring break. The last night of the trip, the leader of the trip told our team that if someone had meant something to us over the course of the week, we should tell them. Love and gratefulness unexpressed is useless. So for about 20 minutes, our team went around telling people how much they encouraged us and how much they meant to us. And it was so cool. Hearing people saying things that affirmed me was something that I loved. And telling people how awesome I thought they were was equally cool.

So if someone means something to you or has done something for you or is just a cool person, tell them. It takes like 2 seconds to send that text.  Or better yet, tell them in person. It can be so encouraging for someone to know that their hard work is noticed or that they are a blessing to someone else. Even if it’s awkward for you to express your emotions, go for it anyways. I feel incredibly awkward talking about my ~~*feelings*~~ but it’s so worth it when it builds someone else up.

Peace and blessings, y’all xoxo

PS: Speaking of saying nice things to people: Thank you so much for reading my blog y’all. It’s so encouraging that people actually read the stuff I write. I was super nervous when I started this blog. But 35 posts and 3000+ views later, it doesn’t seem so scary. And that’s because of you guys. Thanks x infinity. :)))))))))))))

Leave a Reply

