How I Learned That Hollister Isn’t Cool Anymore

Have you ever tried something new? I don’t mean like trying the new Taco Bell breakfast. I mean something completely, totally, brand new. It’s scary as all get out, y’all. I remember my first day of 10th grade. I had been homeschooled for the first 9 years of my scholastic career, so the only thing I knew about public school was what I learned from High School Musical. I was like Cady Heron in that I’d, like, never gone to a real school before. I remember hopping off the bus thinking I was the ish in my distressed jeans and my green Hollister shirt with the red seagull. I had absolutely no idea what I was getting myself into.

Our entire lives are just one new experience after another. It starts the moment you pop out of your mom like, “What up, world?” Then one day, you learn how to walk. Then you learn how to read and write. Then your learn how to ride a bike. And so on and so forth. Everything in life was at one point a totally new experience for you.

It’s natural to want to fight against new things. They’re hard and weird and besides things are fine the way they are, right? But after you get used to the new thing, you wonder how you could have lived without it beforehand. I remember the first time I took a shower. I thought that the water coming down on me from above was the absolute worst thing ever. It could get in my eyes or, God forbid, my nose. I hated showers. Now? A shower is one of the most enjoyable parts of my day. I love standing in that stream of hot water and letting it wash away the stress of the day. But I never would have been able to experience the pleasure of a hot shower if I hadn’t been willing to get over how weird it felt at first.

New things can suck sometimes. But variety is the spice of life. So it’s up to you. You can stay in the comfort of the things you’ve always known. But eventually. you’ll get bored. Yeah, it’ll be comfortable, but the monotony will drive you crazy. Or you can take a chance on something new. You can step out beyond your comfort zone and when you do, you’ll find out that it actually isn’t that bad. I was so far outside my comfort zone when I went from being homeschooled with my three siblings to attending a public school with almost 3,500 kids. But I grew so much from it. I learned how to interact with people in real life. I learned that my Hollister tee actually wasn’t cool anymore. These are things I never could have learned had I not stepped out of my comfort zone. New things aren’t bad; they’re just uncomfortable. And uncomfortable can be good.

Leave a Reply

